Vehicle Registration & Licensing in Hawaii
Whenever you have bought a vehicle in Hawaii you need to first get acquainted with the state requirements of car registration and titling. Vehicle registration in Hawaii is the first step toward getting a license plate.
All in all, the first factor worth to be taken into account is whether you’ve bought it from a dealer or from a private party.
If the purchase has been done with HI Dealer, they are more likely to be responsible for all the paperwork. In case they do not provide that service, you will have to take care of documents and permits within 30 days. You must personally visit the local DMV and fill in the required blank forms and make payments.
Individuals can use theHawaii License Plate
data provided by LicenseLookup to verify the registration and ownership of a vehicle before purchasing it. They can also use it to track down a stolen vehicle or conduct a background check on a driver. Law enforcement agencies can use the data to investigate crimes involving vehicles, such as hit and runs or car thefts. Insurance companies can use the data to verify the accuracy of insurance claims.
Before visiting, contact them ahead to know if they work on the regular time shift as the pandemic may have resulted in changes.
In fact, the transfer is not that easy process and you must have taken care of the whole required paperwork;
First of all, you should have your transport title with you. Please, ask the owner of the car to sign the backside, and so should you do. Check out the due date as if there are less than 45 days left, you must renew it.
Secondly, you should provide the state residency proof of the previous owner. The previous owner's HI registration.
Than complete the request form, provide the certificate of inspection and of course, attach the cheques.
In HI, there are annual fees for listing. The county requirements vary and the amount mainly depends on the transport weight. Each of them has an online fee calculator that is provided by the local DMV.
Below you may find the weight taxes for each transport type;
- The cost of passenger vehicles is 1.25 cents for each pound. They are no more than 6,500 pounds and will cost max. $12.
- 2.5 cents per pound for freight transportation means and any trucks weighing more than 6,500 pounds.
Renewal and Replacement in HI
In Hawaii, you renew it every year before the due date. You’ll receive a notification at least 45 days before. Whenever you’re going to apply you should have your ID, cheques, and all the documents with you.
In case you haven’t managed to renew, you may face late fees and penalties of $16. And if you have failed to register your car on time, you need to make a payment of $40.
And, of course, you need to have the safety inspection confirmed.
You are eligible to renew registration online If you have received the notification and have your car registered in advance you are to proceed with the online request.
And of course, the state has an in-person renewing option in case you need help with your request. You may renew in person at your local Satellite Service facility.
Renewal by mail
You can also mail the required documents before the due date. To proceed with the request you need to have the notification and all the information provided should be correct.
For returned checks, there is a $25 processing fee, and you must submit a payment check. You should also include the yellow portion of your safety inspection when mailing your renewal notice to the DMV.
The mailing addresses for each county are listed below.
Division of Motor Vehicles and Licensing P.O. Box 30320 Honolulu, Hawaii 96820-0320
70 E. Kaahumanu Ave. Maui Mall, Suite A-17 Kahului, HI 96732
Vehicle Registration and Licensing Division 101 Pauahi St., Suite 5 Hilo, HI 96720
County of Kauai Department of Finance Treasury Division (MVR) 4444 Rice St., Ste 466 Lihue, HI 96766-1340
- Proof of identity
- Inspection Certificate
- Current registration
Because of the coronavirus pandemic, Satellite Service centers are closed or have shortened hours. You can only visit there by appointment.
Check the time available before the expiration day and visit the nearest kiosk.